MET/P9/27/CU

At first glance the ‘light painting electronic photograph’ revealed a bleak yet exciting chance to reinvent four canvas print pieces into interactive textile designs.

The print revealed a fluorescent beauty filled with hidden shapes, bright lighting and orbs. This was then contrasted with the darkness that surrounded the objects creating a dramatic statement within the piece. It was after laying the pieces together that I decided to use textile manipulation techniques to brighten aspects of the objects to create focal points within the printed design.

After visiting Mariko Mori’s ‘Rebirth’ exhibition earlier in the year I decided to incorporate her use of fine art and mixed media within my work. I chose to apply the reverse appliqué technique, using two of the electronic photographs, one on top and the other on the bottom twisted 180 degrees, to mirror the original piece. I then sandwiched a sheen and lace fabric between the printed canvases to add subtle colour and depth into the painting. I particularly wanted to use lace in homage to the Lace Museum, which I have recently visited, to add a delicacy to the photographic print.

To create the repeated sections I marked out the areas I required on the top canvas and outlined them with light green thread to brighten and emphasize the shapes. With the sewing machine I then drew and cut circular shapes in the darker spaces, which was further influenced by Mori’s exhibition where she used circular shapes, exploring the summer solace of 2012.

For the second piece I decided to use wadding and the free foot on the sewing machine to emphasise various sections of the photograph by colouring and outlining the key focal points. I used various bright coloured threads to highlight the industrial features hidden within the print.

MET P9 27 CU_1 MET P9 27 CU_2 MET P9 27 CU_4 MET P9 27 CU_5

Created by Claire Jackson

Leave a comment