MET/P11/31/RU

When I received the piece I was firstly encouraged by the size of it, and saw the piece as a wall hanging.  I was then drawn to the use of illustration using fabric paints or dyes. As there were a few illustrations of faces I decided to add my own take on illustrations by using a digital technique rather than screen print or any other printing by hand.

MET_P11_RU_12

I drew the illustration on illustrator using a graphics tablet, giving the image a sketched look, making my illustrations relate being hand drawn, however I feel that the digital print makes the piece in general look more contemporary.

MET_P11_31_RU_2

To get the design onto fabric, I printed my illustration onto fabric heat sensitive paper straight from my inkjet printer and cut round the illustrations. I then ironed the images on one by one using an iron. When the fabric and paper cooled I then peeled off the paper back which would reveal the printed illustration underneath. As well as use of digital print I used embroidery thread to add texture and to illuminate features of the face, including cheeks, lips and bows.

MET_P11_31_RU_8 MET_P11_RU_11

Created by Laura Pritchard

One thought on “MET/P11/31/RU

Leave a comment